Check out market updates



State – Dominican Republic
National language – Spanish
National currency – the Dominican peso, $ 1 = 45-46 peso
Territory – 48, 511.44 square kilometers
Population – 8,324,945 million
The capital – Santo Domingo – 2,138,262 people
Main cities:
Santiago 373.000 inhabitants
La Vega 189.000 inhabitants
San Francisco de Macoris 162, 000 people
San Pedro de Macoris 137.000 inhabitants

Administrative divisions:
National District 1 – the capital of Santo Domingo, 29 provinces (Azua, Baoruco, Barahona, Dajabon, Duarte, Elias Pina, El Seibo, Espaiallat, Hato Mayor, Independencia, La Altagracia, La Romana, La Vega, Maria Trinidad Sanchez, Monsenor Nouel, Monte Cristi, Monte Plata, Pedernales, peravia, Puerto Plata, Salcedo, Samana, Sanchez Ramirez, San Cristobal, SanPedro de Macoris, Santiago, Santiago Rodriguez, Valverde Mao.)
50 municipal districts
110 municipalities

The executive branch – the President and the Vice President , who is elected for a term of 4 years, as well as the Cabinet.

Legislative power – Congress, consisting of the Senate – the upper house (1 senator for each province and the National District) and Chamber of Deputies – the lower chamber (120 members, one from the 50 thousand people from each village with a population of more than 25,000 people) , senators and deputies elected by direct suffrage for a term of 4 years

The Judiciary systemthe Supreme Court (16 judges, magistrates ), the General Prosecutor’s Office, nine appellate courts, 30 courts of first instance in the 1st trial in each municipality. The legislation is based on the French civil code (continental law system).

Leading  party – Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD) – Enmanuel Eskea Gerrero
Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) Juan Bosch
Party of Christian social reformation (PRSC) Joaquin Balager

Geographical position – The Dominican Republic is located between 68’19 and 72’31 degrees east longitude and 17’36 and 19’56 North latitude
Sea borders
Territorial sea 6 nautical miles
The exclusive economic zone 200 miles
Coast 1288 km
Climate tropical

Seasons – year divided not so much by 4 seasons, but on the “wet season” – from March to June and from September to the end of November – the hurricane season and the dry season – the rest of the year. The average temperature in the morning – 28 degrees Celsius in summer and 19 degrees Celsius in summer – winter. In the mountains can drop to 15-18 degrees Celsius, for example, Pico Duarte. Water temperature – 21-25 degrees above zero.

The highest place Pico Duarte – 3.087 meters above sea level
The lowest point Lake Enrikiio – 42 meters below sea level
Longest river Jake del  Norte – 296 km
The longest lake Enrikiio – 265 square meters

Minerals – bauxite, gold, silver, stone brown coal, iron, nickel, cobalt, copper and titanium, graphite, salt and gypsum.

Agricultural products
– sugar cane, bananas, coffee, cocoa,  tobacco, rice, cotton, coconuts, citrus, peanuts, plane trees, root, fruit and other.

Livestock – cows, pigs, goats, sheep, horses, donkeys, mules, chickens, ducks, geese, and others. Used Land area: For growing crops – 21% Permanent crops – 9% Pastures – 43% Forests and jungles – 12% Other – 15% Irrigation land – 2.300 square kilometers

Main exported products –
Minerals: iron and nickel – 30.1%; Gold – 6.2%

Agricultural products – no refined sugar – 13.8 %; Coffee – 10.9%; Cacao – 7.3%

Destinations of exports – U.S. – 47.6%; Developing countries – 14.1%; Puerto Rico – 6.5%; Korean National Republic – 4.6%; Canada – 4.4%

Country importers U.S.
– 44.0%; Venezuela – 11.0%; Mexico – 6.0%; Japan – 5.0%; Developing countries – 4.0%

Leave a Reply